About Me

About Me

My name is Kayes Castleton. I’m a 2nd year finance undergraduate. I’m based somewhere in the midlands (UK).

I was born into a middle-class family, somewhere between Birmingham and Manchester. The travel bug got me good and proper early on, as my mum and dad sported a handily converted Volkswagen that we used as a motorhome for three. Not the best experience mind you – but one that we thoroughly enjoyed as a family. I still remember the horrendous living arrangements, as 3 adults tried to find room to sleep in a small VW camper. Eventually, we upgraded to a “pop top” campervan, and we both got our own double beds – me upstairs in the pop top, and mum and dad downstairs.

I’ve always dreamed of traveling the world – but have never been enticed by the whole “travel forever and grind to get by” mindset.

Instead, I chose to study Finance at University, and hopefully develop enough skills through my 20’s to be able to become financially independent in my 30’s.

At least that way, a whole world of opportunities may present themselves later on in life – whether that’s freelancing, or running my own business.

Here’s 4 silly facts about me:

  • I want to travel and see at least 43 countries. 43 is quite specific – don’t ask me why.
  • I decided at a young age that I never want to have children. This may change in the future.
  • I’m a qualified hairdresser – I decided to do a course over summer because I got “bored”.
  • My natural hair colour is grey – it’s caused by a rare pigment mutation.

With that said, I hope you thoroughly enjoy reading my blog.

Much love and happiness to all – fellow Earth walkers.

Kaye xx